Browse past editions:  NYC, Feb. 2013  SF, Oct. 2013
Look for another API Strategy & Practice event later this year!
APIStrat Tech Un-Workshops @ Gluecon in May.
APIStrat Chicago in September 24-25-26, 2014.

Scaling in the API Economy

 

DAY 1 - Wed, March 26th


1pm-6pm: - Visit Workshop Page For More Detail

6pm: - Unconference Birds of a Feather - This APIDays & APISTRAT session will be formatted as an unconference BOF (Birds of a Feather) to help you find the people at the event with similar interests and also help you identify the topics people are most passionate about for future events. You’ll be able to add your own topics to the pinboards and see who’s planning to be in which sessions.


DAY 2 - Thur, March 27th

Track 1: API Provider
Track 2: API By Industry
Track 3: API Consumer
08:15 AM - 09:00 AM Registration & Breakfast
09:00 AM - 09:10 AM Opening Remarks with Kin Lane and Steven Willmott
09:10 AM - 09:35 AM
Keynote: Ken Wronkiewicz (@wirehead), Technical Leader at Rackspace
Software as a City: What changes when everything has an API.
09:35 AM - 10:00 AM
Keynote: Romain Huet (@romainhuet), Developer Advocate at Twitter
Connecting to the pulse of the planet.
10:00 AM - 10:25 AM
Keynote: Mehdi Medjaoui (@medjawii), Co-founder at Webshell.io & Oauth.io
Scale the API Economy with the Open API Definition Leap Of Faith
10:25 AM - 10:50 AM
Fireside Chat: Tyler Singletary (@harmophone), Director of Platform at Klout
Interviewed by Kin Lane, API Evangelist.
10:50 AM - 11:20 AM Coffee Break
11:20 AM - 12:35 PM
Track 1: API Design and Development
Best practice in design and development techniques.
Track 2: Media, Music and Audio APIs
Insights from Music Industry APIs.
  • Moderator - Martyn Davies (@martynd), Developer Evangelist at SendGrid
  • Erik Michaels-Ober (@sferik), Developer Evangelist at SoundCloud
  • Toby Sims (@4thfloor_monkey), Developer Relations at Pearson
  • Paul Murphy (@prmurphy), CEO at Op3nvoice
Track 3: Discovery and Trust
Directories, Service Descriptions, Trust and rating APIs for re-use.
  • Rix Groenboom (@rix_groenboom), Solution Architect at Parasoft
  • Jonathan Bourguignon (@jon_bou), Co-founder at Reelstorm and APIratings.org
  • Stefan Rust (@srust99), Founder & CEO at Exicon
  • Bruno Pedro (@bpedro), CTO at CloudWork
12:35 PM - 01:50 PM Lunch
01:50 PM - 03:05 PM
Track 1: Service Descriptions
Deep dive into API definitions and description languages for interporerability.
  • Kin Lane (@kinlane), API Evangelist at API Evangelist
  • Sumit Sharma (@sumitcan), Director at Mulesoft
  • Ole Lensmar (@olensmar), CTO at SmartBear Software
  • Ruben Verborgh (@RubenVerborgh), Researcher in Semantic Hypermedia at Ghent University
Track 2: Civic APIs
APIs that provide Civic, Government and Non-profit Information.
  • Lex Slaghuis (@ajslaghu), CEO at Open State Foundation
  • Pieter Colpaert (@pietercolpaert), Researcher at Open Knowledge Foundation
  • Hanna Niemi-Hugaerts (@CitySDK_Hanna), Project Manager at Helsinki, Forum Virium
  • Katalin Gallyas (@katalinG), Open Innovation Policy Advisor at City of Amsterdam
Track 3: Security & Testing
Securing and Testing APIs for stability and peace of mind.
  • Mark O'Neill (@TheMarkOneill), VP Innovation at Axway
  • Travis Spencer (@travisspencer), CEO at Twobo Technologies
  • Lorinda Brandon (@lindybrandon), Technical Marketing Consultant at
  • Prabath Siriwardena (@prabath), Director of Security Architecture at WSO2
03:05 PM - 04:20 PM
Track 1: Hypermedia APIs
Deep dive into Hypermedia APIs. This should not be "what is it" - it should be "how" things are done and how to make them effective.
  • Philip De Smedt (@philipdesmedt), Co-founder at Compete Hub
  • Matthew Reinbold (@libel_vox), Senior Software Engineer at JustFab
  • Markus Lanthaler (@markuslanthaler), W3C Invited Expert & Researcher at Graz University of Technology
Track 2: Enterprise APIs
Challenges in API devleopment, deployment and operation at Enterprise scale.
  • Toralf Richter (@ToralfRichter), Senior Manager Engineering at Tom Tom Business Solution
  • Tim Haysom (@haysom_runner), Developer Marketing Manager at GSMA
  • Pooja Capellos (@PoojaCapellos), Product Manager at Unibet
  • Sid Bhatia (@SidBhatiaCalif), Program Director, API Economy Product Mgmt at IBM
Track 3: High Scalability
Scalably growing API Traffic, Users and Data Volume.
  • Zachary Drillings (@), Senior Software Engineer at AppNexus
  • Owen Garrett (@owengarrett), Product Manager at NGINX
  • Andrew Noonan (@noonisms), Developer Evangelist at Gnip
  • Steve Willmott (@njyx), CEO at 3Scale
04:20 PM - 04:50 PM Break
04:50 PM - 05:15 PM
Keynote: John Sheehan (@johnsheehan), Co-founder & CEO at Runscope
John is an API fanatic with over 15 years of experience working in a wide variety of IT and software development roles.
05:15 PM - 05:40 PM
Fireside Chat: Gordon Hollingworth, Director of Software at Raspberry Pi
Interviewed by Robin Wauters, from Tech.eu || Gordon is the Director of Engineering at Raspberry Pi in the UK - currently the worlds fastest growing computer company. Pi's are now used in all sorts of applications from standard desktop computing to embedded systems. Previous senior engineering manager at Broadcom, Gordon leads the Software and Networking effort at Raspberry Pi.
05:40 PM - 06:05 PM
Keynote: Mike Amundsen (@mamund), API Architect at Layer7
Self-Replication, Strandbeest, and the Game of Life What von Neumann, Jansen, and Conway can teach us about scaling the API economy.
06:05 PM - 06:35 PM
Panel: Real Time APIs

An open discussion about development of applications with real-time features, and just what is real-time? Leaders from the space get together and talk about the leading companies, key tools, services and protocols that are driving real-time in the apps we use every day.

Panelists: Dave Nugent (@drnugent) Developer at PubNub , Richard Caudle (@rich_caudle) Platform Evangelist at Datasift , Robin Hawkes (@robhawkes) Head of Developer Relations at Pusher

Moderator: Phil Leggetter (@leggetter), Dev Evangelist at Caplin Systems

06:35 PM - 07:35 PM Drinks Reception! Supported by NordicAPIs

DAY 3 - Fri, March 28th

Track 1: API Provider
Track 2: API By Industry
Track 3: API Consumer
08:15 AM - 09:00 AM Registration & Breakfast
09:00 AM - 09:05 AM Opening Remarks with Kin Lane & Steven Willmott
09:05 AM - 09:30 AM
Keynote: David Haskiya (@Europeanaeu), Product Development Manager at Europeana
09:30 AM - 09:55 AM
Keynote: Eva Sjokvist (@evasjokvist), Product Owner at Absolut Vodka
The story on how Absolut created the world's first API for cocktails and the innovation that followed.
09:55 AM - 10:20 AM
Keynote: Frank Kresin (@kresin), Research Director at Waag Society
City SDK: tons of data, dozens of cities, one API.
10:20 AM - 10:45 AM
Fireside Chat: Renaud Visage, Founding Technical Engineer at Eventbrite
Renaud is the founding technical architect of Eventbrite and is responsible for the internationalization of our platform. Say what?! Basically, the man cooked up Eventbrite’s secret sauce. He built the engine that runs the entire platform. And now he’s revving it and spreading it around the world.
10:45 AM - 11:15 AM Coffee Break
11:15 AM - 11:45 AM
Panel: Enterprise APIs

Panelists: Isabelle Mauny (@isamauny) Director of Product Management at WSO2 , Ismail Elshareef (@ielshareef) Open Platform at Edmunds , Laura Heritage (@heritagelaura) Principal Consultant at SOA Software , Toralf Richter (@ToralfRichter) Senior Manager Engineering at Tom Tom Business Solution

11:45 AM - 01:00 PM
Track 1: API Marketing & Developer Communities
How to Maketing and promote APIs and grow your developer community.
  • Ricky Robinett (@rickyrobinett), Developer Evangelist at Twilio
  • Andreas Krohn (@andreaskrohn), Co-founder at Nordic APIs
  • Brian Koles (@BrianKoles), Business Development Director at ChallengePost
  • Jeff Hadfield (@), CXO at Developer Media
Track 2: APIs in Financial Services
Put Insights from leading APIs in the Finance Industry.
  • Ismail Chaib (@ichaib), COO at Open Bank Project
  • Gerben Mak (@makkie), Innovation Manager at Rabobank at Rabobank
  • Carlos Kuchkovsky Jimenez (@), BBVA at Open Platform Chief
  • David Garry (@nomossoftware), Co-founder & CTO at Nomos Software
Track 3: API Based App Development
Tales from the front line of API Powered App Development.
  • Michael Vakulenko (@mvakulenko), Mobile Ecosystems Lead at VisionMobile
  • Fokke Zandbergen (@FokkeZB), Developer Advocate at Appcelerator
  • Luis Borges Quina (@QuinaLuis), Co-founder at Apidaze
  • Philippe Sultan (@ApidazeEng), Co-founder & CTO at Apidaze
  • Tony Blank (@thetonyblank), Developer Evangelist at Context.IO
01:00 PM - 02:15 PM Lunch
02:15 PM - 03:30 PM
Track 1: Hardware and IOT
Merging hardware and software - how APIs help glue together the Internet of Things.
  • Marco Herbst (@marcoherbst), Founder and CEO at Evercam.io
  • Marc Pous (@gy4nt), Founder at theThings.IO
  • Rob Zazueta (@rzazueta), Director of Platform at Mashery
  • Paul Hopton (@HoptonPaul), Chief Engineer at relayr
Track 2: Community APIs
APIs that provide Community, Education and Services for the common good.
  • Jamie Parkins (@jamieparkins), Product Manager at JustGiving
  • Lorna Mitchell (@lornajane), Web Developer Consultant at Lorna Mitchell
  • Maarten Brinkerink (@mbrinkerink), Project Manager at R&D department of the NL Institute for Sound and Vision
  • Nico Schoonderwoerd (@klup), Co-founder at PeerReach
Track 3: Business Models
Business Models
  • Ramesh Raganathan (@ramr1972), Principal Consultant at Wipro Technologies
  • Michael Stephanblome (@mstephanblome), CEO & Co-founder at Bondable
  • Anselme Jalon (@ansjalon), Data/ API specialist at FABERNOBEL
  • Andy Jones (@), Technical Director EMEA at SOA Software
03:30 PM - 03:45 PM Coffee Break
03:45 PM - 04:10 PM
Keynote: Kat Borlongan (@KatBorlongan), Co-founder at Five by Five
Kat Borlongan is an open data enthusiast with many different hats. Currently, she is the co-founder of the Paris-based open data agency Five by Five and directs the Open Data Institute Paris.
04:10 PM - 04:35 PM
Keynote: Adam Wiggins (@hirodusk), Hacker & Entrepreneur. Co-founder at Heroku
Hackability, Part 2. The Role of APIs in a Hackable World.
04:35 PM - 05:00 PM
Keynote: Adam DuVander (@adamd), Developer Communications Director at Sendgrid
Join us for a chat with Adam from Sendgrid, where we will discuss his role at SendGrid, but also explore the wider world of APIs from the former editor at ProgrammableWeb.
05:00 PM - 05:30 PM
Panel: Toward 1 Million APIs

API Growth is accelerating - with many organizations launching and using APIs, however we’re still in the 10,000’s or low 100,000’s of APIs range and many are not publicly accessible. What happens when we reach millions of APIs and indeed - how do we get there. It seems unlikely that today’s mechanisms of hand crafting code and human readable documentation at best will get us there. How can the API Economy scale to function if the number of APIs increases 10x or even 100-1000x.

05:30 PM - 05:45 PM Closing Remarks