Browse past editions: NYC, Feb. 2013

Get Plugged Into The API Economy

San Francisco, Parc55 Hotel, 23-24-25 October, 2013

DAY 1 - OCT. 23


1pm-6pm: Workshops


DAY 2 - OCT. 24

08:15 AM - 09:00 AM Registration & Breakfast
09:00 AM - 09:10 AM Opening Remarks with Kin Lane and Steven Willmott
09:10 AM - 09:35 AM
Keynote: Pamela Fox (@pamelafox), Frontend Engineer at Khan Academy
Talk: Developer Experience: What it is and Why it Matters
09:35 AM - 10:00 AM
Talk: API Realtalk
10:00 AM - 10:25 AM
Keynote: Peter Rexer (@BoxPlatform), Platform Product Lead at Box
Talk: Consumerization of Development
10:25 AM - 10:50 AM
Fireside Chat: Daniel Jacobson (@daniel_jacobson), Director of API Engineering at Netflix
Daniel Jacobson is the director of API engineering at Netflix. Prior to Netflix, he was at NPR where he created the NPR API as well as the content management system that drives NPR.org, mobile platforms and all other digital presentations for NPR content.
10:50 AM - 11:20 AM Coffee Break
11:20 AM - 12:35 PM
Track 1: API Provider
Creation, Design and Documentation of APIs
  • Evan Broder and Nelson Elhage (@ebroder and @nelhage), Systems Team at Stripe
  • Jakub Nesetril (@jakubnesetril), Co-founder & CEO at Apiary.io
  • Jerome Louvel (@jlouvel), CEO at APISpark
  • Frictionless API Development with Swagger - Kelsey Innis (@kelseyinnis), Scala Engineer at Reverb!
Track 2: API Trends
APIs and The Future of Data
  • Data Decay and the Illusion of the Present - Dan Lynn (@danklynn), CTO & Co-founder at FullContact
  • Harold Madsen (@HaroldMadsen), API Director at Ancestry.com
  • Ian White (@urbanmapping), Founder & CEO at Urban Mapping
  • Victor Olex (@agilevic), Founder and President at vt.enterprise
Track 3: API Consumer
API Discovery
  • The 10 API commandments - Montana Flynn (@montanaflynn), API hustler at Mashape
  • Sumit Sharma (@sumitcan), Responsible for APIhub at Mulesoft
  • Tyler Singletary (@harmophone), Director of Platform at Klout
  • Wayne Ariola (@wayneariola), Chief Strategy Officer at Parasoft
12:35 PM - 01:50 PM Lunch
01:50 PM - 03:05 PM
Track 1: API Provider
Hypermedia APIs
  • Hypermedia - Hype, Hope and Reality - Andrew Lau (@drewzie), Commerce Architect at Elastic Path
  • Irakli Nadareishvili (@inadarei), Director of Engineering, Digital Media at NPR
  • Jon Moore (@jon_moore), Technical Fellow at Comcast Corporation
  • Lowering the Barrier to Entry w/ Hypermedia - Mike Amundsen (@mamund), API Architect at Layer7
Track 2: API Trends
APIs and the Future of Commerce
  • APIs and The Future of Business - Ismail Elshareef (@ielshareef), Open Platform at Edmunds
  • Adaptive Commerce Experiences with Machine Learning APIs - Jason Lobel (@jasonlobel), Co-Founder & CEO at SwiftIQ
  • Using data before and after the purchase to improve customer experience - Jeff MacDuff (@jeffmacduff), CTO at Buddy.com
  • Putting an API Around Our Stores - Joe Rago (@joerago), Sr. Product Manager at Walgreens API
Track 3: API Consumer
API Testing & Debugging
  • Jason Harmon (@jasonh_n_austin), API Evangelizer at Apiux.com
  • John Musser (@johnmusser), Founder at API Science
  • API Testing & Debugging for Great Good - John Sheehan (@johnsheehan), Co-founder & CEO at Runscope
  • Ole Lensmar (@olensmar), Chief Architect at SmartBear
03:05 PM - 04:20 PM
Track 1: API Provider
Security & Scalability
  • Andrew Noonan (@gnip), Software Developer at GNIP
  • Ben John (@benjohn), Head of Web Services Engineering at AppNexus
  • Building an API Platform at Global Internet Scale - Corey Scobie (@cscobie_AKAM), Vice President, Open Platform at Akamai
  • Ryan MacArthur (@maceip), Security Researcher and Entrepreneur at Stealth startup
Track 2: API Trends
APIs and the Quantified Self
  • Aryeh Selekman (@aselekman), Product Manager at Facebook Healthgraph
  • Jeremiah Lee Cohick (@JeremiahLee), API Engineer at Fitbit
  • Yummly - Connecting Recipes with Data - Melissa Guyre (@melissaguyre), Product Manager at Yummly
  • Mike Polcari (@checkoutmygenes), Director, Software Engineering at 23andMe
Track 3: API Consumer
Modern App Infrastructure
  • Max Katz (@maxkatz), Head of Developer Relations at Appery.io
  • What will it take for Enterprise to adopt BaaS - Morgan Bickle (@morganbic), CTO at Kinvey
  • Avoiding Pentalobes: API Philosophy for Product Companies - R. Kevin Nelson (@rknLA), API Engineer at Rdio
  • Richard Mendis (@AnyPresence), Chief Product Officer and Co-Founder at AnyPresence
04:20 PM - 04:50 PM Break
04:50 PM - 05:15 PM
Keynote: Kristin Calhoun (@KCalhoun), Executive Director at Public Media Platform
Talk: The Future Public Media Economy
05:15 PM - 05:40 PM
Deepak Nadig heads Platform Technology at PayPal. In this role, he leads the team responsible for delivering PayPal’s APIs and Developer Experience for external and internal developers.
05:40 PM - 06:10 PM
Panel: Traffic & Weather LIVE

John Sheehan & Steve Marx

06:10 PM - 06:40 PM
Panel: Future of the Web

06:40 PM - 07:40 PM Drinks Reception!

DAY 3 - OCT. 25

08:15 AM - 09:00 AM Registration & Breakfast
09:00 AM - 09:05 AM Opening Remarks with Kin Lane & Steven Willmott
09:05 AM - 09:30 AM
Keynote: Laura Heritage (@heritagelaura), Product Line Manager at IBM API Management
Laura Heritage is a Product Line Manager for IBM API Management. She has built IBM's product strategy for helping customers enter the API economy. As an Certified IT Specialist, she has in-depth knowledge of APIs and SOA, and has architected and developed numerous SOA solutions. Laura is now helping those customers take their SOA to the next level by opening up and reaching new channels through APIs.
09:30 AM - 09:55 AM
Keynote: Oren Michels (@Michels), CEO at Mashery
Talk: Connecting Today's Business with Tomorrow's Customer
09:55 AM - 10:20 AM
Keynote: Drew Dillon (@drewdil), Director of Product Management at Yammer
Talk: Designing Your Organization's API
10:20 AM - 10:45 AM
Fireside Chat:
Salil Deshpande (Bain Capital Ventures) and Uri Sarid (CTO at Mulesoft)
10:45 AM - 11:15 AM
Panel: Panel on the API Economy

Panelists: Craig Burton (@craigburton) Senior Analyst and currently Principal at Burtonian , John Musser (@johnmusser) Founder at API Science , Kin Lane (@kinlane) API Evangelist at API Evangelist

Moderator: Brian Proffitt (@TheTechScribe), Enterprise Editor at ReadWrite

11:15 AM - 11:45 AM Coffee Break
11:45 AM - 01:00 PM
Track 1: API Provider
API Marketing & Evangelism
  • Make your API Irresistible - Adam Duvander (@adamd), Developer Communications Director at SendGrid
  • Using Competition to Grow Developer Ecosystems - Brian Koles (@BrianKoles), Head of Business Development at ChallengePost
  • Chris Haddad (@cobiacomm), Vice President Technology Evangelism at WSO2
  • The Future of Developer Evangelism - Swift (@SwiftAlphaOne), Founder at HackerLeague
Track 2: API Trends
APIs for Government & Public Data
  • Application Development War Stories - Chris Metcalf (@chrismetcalf), Developer Evangelist at Socrata
  • George Atala (@gmatala), Chief instigator of API and open data strategies at UC Berkeley
  • Jed Sundwall (@jedsundwall), Co-founder at Measured Voice
  • Nick Muerdter (@NREL), Applications Engineer at National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Track 3: API Consumer
API Application Development from the Trenches
  • Alex Gaber (@), Technical Instructor at NewCircle
  • SOA for Single Page Applications - DeVaris Brown (@devarispbrown), API Guy at Zendesk
  • Kevin Burke (@ekrubnivek), API Engineer at Twilio
  • Product Experiments using API's - Nick Hasty (@jnhasty), Head of Engineering at Giphy
01:00 PM - 02:15 PM Lunch
02:15 PM - 03:30 PM
Track 1: API Provider
Business Models
  • Evolution of API Business Models - Bob Brauer (@sibob), Chief Technology Officer at StrikeIron
  • Market Driven API Business Models - David White (@flightstats), Chief Customer Officer at FlightStats
  • Guillaume Balas (@guillaumebalas), CMO at 3scale
  • Lessons learned from $0 to $1M API revenue - Jeff Boudier (@jeffboudier), Cofounder & Revenue at Stupeflix
Track 2: API Trends
Enterprise APIs
  • Identity Management in the API and Big Data World - Bradford Stephens (@LusciousPear), Entrepreneur in Residence at Ping Identity
  • The Panoptix API Journey - John Bernd and Simone Vigano (@jkbernd and @ViganoSimone), Product Team at Panoptix, Johnson Controls
  • Keith McFarlane (@krmc), Cloud Platform & Telephony at LiveOps
  • Jumping Ahead with APIs - Sachin Agarwal (@sachinagarwal), Vice President of Product Marketing and Strategy at SOA Software
Track 3: API Consumer
Mashing up APIs for Fun & Profit
  • Bryan Helmig (@bryanhelmig), Co-founder at Zapier
  • Cyrus Ghalambor (@adigami), Founder & CEO at Adigami
  • Mehdi Medjaoui (@medjawii), Co-Founder at Webshell
  • Michele Titolo (@micheletitolo), Senior Mobile Engineer at Interactive Prolific
03:30 PM - 03:45 PM Coffee Break
03:45 PM - 04:10 PM
Keynote: Laura Merling (@magicmerl), VP Ecosystems and Solutions at AT&T
Fireside Chat with Laura Merling
04:10 PM - 04:40 PM
Panel: Panel on API Ecosystems and Platforms

04:40 PM - 04:55 PM Closing Remarks